Tags

, , , , , , ,

He’s Beautiful & Perfect

Courtesy Samuel Forrest

Courtesy Samuel Forrest

Samuel Forrest had to make a choice that nobody should have to, thankfully he made the right one. When the Doctors brought his newborn son Leo into the room, they had his face covered up, and they would not allow Samuel to see him or his wife. The doctor said ‘there’s a real problem with your son.’ The Armenian doctors said ‘Leo has Down Syndrome,’ and they gave him the option to give up his son. This was not the difficult decision however. Forrest says “They took me in to see him and I looked at this guy and I said, he’s beautiful — he’s perfect and I’m absolutely keeping him.”

The Difficult Decision

Courtesy Samuel Forrest

Courtesy Samuel Forrest

When Samuel entered his wife’s hospital room holding Leo, his wife gave him an ultimatum. “She told me if I kept him then we would get a divorce.” Samuel Forrest chose to love his child, regardless of a disability, and his wife’s decision to leave him. His wife filed for divorce just one week after baby Leo’s birth.

The Right Decision

I am extremely elated that the father made the right choice, he chose love. I’m sure this is a difficult time, but he is focused on the positives. He is working with disability awareness groups to share his story. If you would like to help financially you can donate via his gofundme campaign: Bring Leo Home.

Original News Source by Nicole Pelletiere, ABC News.

Blogging U.

