Tags

, , , ,

Like a lot of people, I was outraged at the attack on Charlie Hebdo, as I am with any terror attack. It was inspirational to see so many stand in solidarity with one another against terror attacks; still not enough though in my opinion. I was particularly disappointed that of the 40 world leaders that stood together (many of them ironically), the President of the U.S.A. did not bother to show up. France is our oldest ally, French President Jacques Chirac Was First to Visit the U.S. After 9/11, but I digress.

Meanwhile, a deadly massacre occurred in Baga, a town on the border with Chad. It was the deadliest massacre in the history of Boko Haram. An Amnesty International statement said there are reports the town was razed and as many as 2,000 people killed. It is very sad and troubling that I did not see any televised coverage of this. This is why I always tell people not to rely on televised news; read, research, learn and be informed. Any terror attack is awful, why should one garner more media attention and support than another? Particularly when the death toll of Baga far exceeds any recent terror attacks.

